Writing Update! Finishing the First Draft

Hi everyone!dsc03339

So, as you can tell from the title – I HAVE FINISHED THE FIRST DRAFT OF MY NOVEL.

πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

That was my face when I wrote the last few words. I was ecstatic! I had actually finished
writing this story that had been in my head for months, which is something that rarely happens to me. The characters had grown and suffered and laughed, my world was all set up; this idea had turned into something tangible and real. I was thrilled, and I still am! I think as writers it’s hard to be pleased with what you’ve created because you always think that there’s a book that will be better than yours, but we should give ourselves more credit – we create worlds and people and plots just from our heads! (And the savior that is Pinterest. God bless.)

I gave it a bit more time and stepped away from my draft for a few days, and I started to think: What comes next? (And then I started singing Hamilton because I am obsessed).
But seriously, what happens after first drafts? What did I do now? No new scenes to write, no more cute character moments to think of? I had spent so much of my time in this draft, there had been so many moments when I would be having a crappy day and looking forward to writing more of my story would cheer me up, and now it’s over? After all these questions, my face turned into something like this:

D:

What happens next is editing, which is even scarier than a massive story-sized chasm in my life! This story is going to – hopefully – be the first in a five(ish) book series, so as dsc03343much as I want to dive right in and plot the second book, I need to edit this first draft before I even think about the second one. Funny thing about editing my first novel is that: a) I have never edited anything but coursework before because I am not dedicated at all, and b) I hand-wrote my first draft. It came to one and a half notebooks’ worth. Which means that I need to type up one and a half notebooks’ worth of novel before I can edit it. *cries*

Anyway, I’m about eight chapters in and there’s so much that needs rewriting, so many plot point that no longer make sense. Also literally every character sighs?? Like all the time?? Why do I do this?! But I’m enjoying it all the same; there are loads of scenes that I had completely forgotten about, so it’s nice rediscovering them!

So that’s where I am with writing at the moment! How is your work in progress doing? Do you have any editing tips? Or do you have any weird things that you wrote that doesn’t make sense (Like my perpetually sighing characters) ? Let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

 

14 thoughts on “Writing Update! Finishing the First Draft”

  1. Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I actually leave my draft for at least a week or two before I start any edits or rewriting. I think it’s important to let things stew and approach editing with a slightly different perspective to the draft… Plus if I like something enough to keep it after that I know it’s not my mad first draft crazy delirium taking over me… πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you!! I’m glad I waited a bit, I think it helped me distance myself from all the emotions of finishing. And mad first draft crazy delirium is the perfect description of writing a first draft haha! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. SO MUCH CONGRATS FOR FINISHING!! AHHH!! THAT’S AMAZING!!! *gives you all the congratulatory cake* Honestly I admire you for diving straight into edits. I generally wait a few months so I can kind of distance myself emotionally and not be too sick of the story to really tear into it.πŸ˜‚ Okay fine. Who am I kidding. I prefer to wait a few years.πŸ˜‚ Ahem. I’m terrible!!
    Also I toootally relate to that feeling of “now what” once finishing a draft. I had SUCH a writers funk after I finished writing a book in February because my brain didn’t even know what to obsess over. Ah the writers life. So fun.πŸ˜‚
    I hope you rewarded yourself with something epic btw!! πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

    Like

    1. Thank you Cait!! πŸ™‚ I think by typing it up I’m hopefully distancing myself, but I’m just getting annoyed with how dumb some of my sentences are! πŸ˜‰ The writers life is the best *cue writers crying in the distance*
      Haha I didn’t actually, maybe I will once I’ve gone through it again πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Well done on your first draft. One of my favourite parts is editing, cutting word count, extracting as much meaning from as few words as possible. Good luck with it πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. It’s good to know how other writers feel about their first drafts. I’m not the only one! My friend and I are coauthoring together and have been working for about a year on our novel. We completed our “first draft” several months ago, but it wasn’t so much a first draft as a completed story line, or so we thought. We are currently in the process of re-writing everything we had and then we plan to have a paper copy and go through with red pens. It’ll be a ball. Any tips you can give us?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, coauthoring sounds really fun! I’m not really a writing expert – this is actually the first time I’m re-writing something! – but I would say that if you aren’t happy with the story line, maybe go back and think about the key plot points you want to include. I know when I rewrite my story I plan on bullet pointing each plot point so I can see my story arc and where it needs to be fixed. Good luck πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Cool! Ours is pretty much complete as far as the major story-line goes, although we make minor tweaks and scene enhancements pretty frequently. It is about three kids, a sister and brother, and the sister’s best friend, whose parents leave them alone to go on a business trip. They end up finding out their parents have been kidnapped, along with a bunch of other things they never knew, and have to go save them… there is also a huge plot twist at the end so… don’t want to spoil that just yet.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Congrats on your first draft!!! I know this was a while back, but how is the editing coming along?
    Personally it helps for me to take a break before editing (at least 4 weeks) to give me some distance. When I reread my draft, there are lots of scenes that I used to like which I now don’t (and vice versa). I also caught myself reusing many many words and phrases (we all have our go-tos) and some parts don’t make any sense. You are definitely not alone there πŸ™‚
    In terms of editing tips: make sure the plot makes sense and smooth out the pacing. Make sure each character have motivations and that their actions are understandable. Don’t worry about wording of scenes until you get this stuff sorted out first. Nothing is worse than rewriting a scene only to find that you are taking it out completely (speaking from experience here haha…)

    Happy editing,
    Sophie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Editing is going very slowlyπŸ˜‚at the moment I’m just trying to figure out the plot but it remains a mystery even to myself right now! Thank you for all your advice, I definitely need to stop focusing on the wording and start looking at the pace😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

